Rotary Club of Canterbury

Annual General Meeting

28th May 2019

Minutes

1. Annual Reports of Club and Council (2018/2019)

- President (Margaret Griffin)
- Community Service (David Barton)
- International (Viv Pritchard)
- Vocational (Alan Mepstead)
- Club Service (Neil Fraser)
- Foundation (Alistair Scott)
- Fund Raising (Tony Loughran)
- Membership (Robert Yonge)
- Millennium Scholarship Fund and update on Trustees (Roger Power).

The President reported that 2018/2019 had been an enjoyable and interesting year and thanked all the Members for their support. The reports were presented and discussed.

2. Treasurer's Report (2018/2019)

The accounts were presented and discussed. The work on Gift Aid by Lewis Norris had resulted in additional funds of £3451, which is seen as a major success. The Annual membership was agreed to be raised from £140 to £155 to cover the forthcoming expenditure on the Pentangular and Centenary celebrations. This is the first increase for many years.

The accounts were agreed by the Club with the proposal made by Roger Bickerton and seconded by Viv Pritchard.

The President and the Club thanked Lewis for his excellent work on producing clear, accurate accounts every month.

3. Election of Honorary members

Club Council agreed on 18.3.19 to recommend that Roddy Tyndale-Biscoe be elected as Honorary Member of the Club; this was proposed in the AGM by Viv Pritchard and seconded by Tony Pomeroy.

Lord Carey remains as life Honorary Member.

Justin Welby is in the second of his third year of being Honorary Member.

The Club agreed to renew the annual Honorary Member status of the Lord Mayor, David Flood and Robert Willis.

4. Update on Election of Ordinary Members of the Council

The Club agreed the following shall be elected as Ordinary Members of the Club Council

Viv Pritchard (proposed by Martin Ward)

Martin Ward (proposed by Roger Bickerton)

Peter Hermitage (proposed by Brian Dobinson)

Bob Anderson (proposed by Mike Talbot)

5. Confirming the Chairmen of Committees (see Appendix 1)

These were agreed by the Club.

6. Request to Roger Power to examine the Club's accounts and the MSF

Roger Power had agreed to undertake this role and the Club thanked him for this.

7. Election of Representative (and substitutes) to the District Council

The Club agreed that this will be the President, Secretary, Treasurer and President Elect.

8. AOB

None

Appendix 1 – Committee Chairs and key roles 2019 - 2020

President - Neil Fraser

President Elect – Alan Mepstead

Club Service - Alan Mepstead

Secretary - Robert Boyd-Howell (stand in Neil Fraser)

Treasurer – Stephen Thompson (deputy Richard Kemball-Cook)

Centenary – Stephen Thompson

Community Service – David Barton

President Events - David Barton

International - Viv Pritchard

Vocational – Mary McGeary

Communications - Julie Reza

Awards - Alistair Scott

Foundation – Alistair Scott

Pentangular – Alistair Scott

Millennium Scholarship Fund – Roger Power

Fund Raising – Tony Loughran

Membership – Martin Ward

Mini Group Exchange – Martin Ward

Heath and Safety – Raj Dassan

Dining – Raj Dassan (deputy Maxine Blades)

Speaker Secretary – Phillip Abbott (deputy Jenny Brown)

Website and Communications – Robert Boyd-Howell